Your Councillors

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

Royal Berkshire Fire Authority Members (councillors) are appointed annually onto the Fire Authority. Seats are calculated annually based on the electoral numbers provided by each of the six unitary authorities in the Royal County of Berkshire: Bracknell Forest Council, Reading Borough Council, Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead, Slough Borough Council, Wokingham Borough Council and West Berkshire Council. There are 20 seats on Royal Berkshire Fire Authority (RBFA).

In addition to their decision making role on RBFA, they have regular contact with the general public through their respective council and committee meetings, telephone calls and surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of RBFA are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find Royal Berkshire Fire Authority councillors please use the below links: